Stimulants Or Controlled Substances Charges In Wisconsin
Attorney Kerri Cleghorn has been defending criminal stimulant drug charges since the early 2000s. With an ever-developing knowledge of drug charges per county and an eye for meticulous detail, she’s helped thousands of people charged with possession of narcotics in Wisconsin. Schedule your free in-person or over-the-phone consultation at Cleghorn Defense to get started on building your aggressive defense. When it’s your rights on the line, you need to be aggressive.
Caught With Cocaine In Wisconsin
Cocaine is considered a Schedule II Controlled Substance under Wisconsin and Federal law, meaning the penalties will be severe.
- First offense cocaine possession charges: This charge is considered a misdemeanor with penalties of up to 1 year jail-time and $5,000 in fines. If convicted, loss of license for up to five years may occur and additional fines.
- Subsequent cocaine possession charges: This is considered a Class I felony with multiple years in prison, $10,000 fines and additional fines at time of conviction.
Caught With Methamphetamines (Meth) In Wisconsin
Meth is considered a Schedule II Controlled Substance under Wisconsin and federal law. The penalties for getting caught with meth anywhere in Wisconsin could be severe.
- First offense meth possession charges: If you’re caught with meth, whether yours or not, it is considered a misdemeanor (for the first time only). This charge comes with 1 year in jail and up to $5,000 in fines. You may also lose your license and may have to pay outrageous additional fees.
- Subsequent meth possession charges: Second offense meth possession and beyond are defined as felonies and carry up to 3.5 years in jail and $10,000 fines.
Caught With Ecstasy Or MDMA In Wisconsin
MDMA, or ecstasy, is considered a Schedule I Hallucinogenic Substance under Wisconsin and Federal law. According to the DEA, MDMA serves no medical purpose and only poses a danger to users. This is why it carries the heaviest penalties.
Manufacture, Distribution, Or Delivery Of MDMA Charges
This charge is considered a class E felony. If you’re caught selling MDMA and other narcotics, it is considered a Class H felony.
Possession With Intent To Deliver MDMA Charges
This charge is considered a class E felony. If you’re caught selling MDMA and other narcotics, it is considered a Class H felony. The penalties for this charge include a fine up to $10,000 and potentially up to 6 years in prison.
First Offense Possession Of MDMA Charges
First offenses are typically considered misdemeanors, but ecstasy is classified as such a dangerous drug that you can hit with a $5,000 fine and/or up to one year in jail if you’re caught with MDMA in Wisconsin.
Subsequent Offense Possession Of MDMA Charges
Second offense possession of MDMA in Wisconsin results in a Class I felony and up to 3.25 years in prison and $10,000 fines.
The Right Defense Attorney For Your Drug Charges
If you’ve been arrested on stimulant drug-related charges, then you’ve come to the right place. Attorney Kerri Cleghorn is an aggressive criminal defense lawyer for drug cases in Brookfield, Waukesha, New Berlin and beyond. Get in touch for a free consultation to begin building your case.