On Your Side From Day One

Defense Attorney For THC Charges In Wisconsin

Possession of a controlled substance in the state of Wisconsin comes with serious penalties that need to be dealt with immediately. If you or a loved one was caught with marijuana (THC, pot, cannabis) then seek the best legal counsel to give you/loved one immediate relief. Get a free TCH charge consultation from defense attorney Kerri Cleghorn.

Let’s discuss your case. Reach out to Cleghorn Defense for a consultation.

What Happens If I Get Caught With Marijuana?

Marijuana is still illegal in Wisconsin which means you could be heavily fined or put in jail for a period of time depending on your charges. We defend a variety of marijuana charges from Milwaukee to Madison, including:

Possession of THC:

  • First offense: Any amount is a misdemeanor with up to 6 months jail time and $1,000 fines.
  • Subsequent offenses: Any amount is considered a felony with up to 3.5 years jail time and $10,000 fines.

Caught with drug paraphernalia:

  • First offense: $50 fine and community service. Minors may lose their license.
  • Second offense: $100 fine and community service. Minors may lose their license.
  • Third offense: $500 fine and community service. Minors may lose their license.

Intent to distribute, sell or deliver:

  • > 200g: Class I felony with up to 3.5 years jail time and $10,000 fine
  • 200g-1,000g: Felony with up to 6 years jail time and $10,000 fine
  • 1,000g – 2,500g: Felony with up to 10 years jail time and $25,000 fine
  • 10,000+g: Class E Felony with up to 15 years jail time and $50,000 fine

Growing/cultivating marijuana:

  • 4-20 plants: Class H felony with up to 6 years jail time and $10,000 fine
  • 20-50 plants: Felony with up to 10 years jail time and $25,000 fine
  • 50-200 plants: Felony with up to 12.5 years jail time and $25,000 fine
  • 200+ plants: Felony with up to 15 years jail time and $50,000 fine

Every case is different with additional charges for outstanding circumstances.

Where You Were Caught Matters

There are additional penalties for being in possession of or with intent to sell THC on or within 1,000 feet of:

  • Municipal or state parks
  • Jail or correctional facilities
  • Multiunit public housing
  • Public swimming pools
  • Youth or community centers
  • Schools and school busses
  • Drug abuse treatment facilities

If you’ve been charged with any of the above charges or other relevant drug charges in Milwaukee, Brookfield, Waukesha or beyond, then get in touch. Attorney Cleghorn offers free consultations to review your case and determine the best path to an aggressive defense of your rights.