Cocaine Classification And Overview Of Penalties
Cocaine is classified as a schedule II controlled substance under Wisconsin’s drug laws. Possessing ANY amount of cocaine, even contaminated surfaces, is illegal. First-time possession of cocaine is always a Class I felony offense. Maximum punishments include a one-year jail sentence, $5,000 in fines, and the loss of your driver’s license for up to five years. First offense cocaine possession carries additional surcharges which could increase your total fines to $7,500.
If you are facing charges of cocaine possession, Cleghorn Defense can help. Call for a consultation.
How To Beat Cocaine Possession Charges In Wisconsin
Drug charges are prosecuted aggressively and quickly, so hiring a criminal defense attorney is essential to winning your case. Effective defenses will determine whether your drug charges can be reduced or eliminated completely. Defenses include:
- Not enough proof: You are innocent until proven guilty. If the prosecution cannot prove that the drug was yours, there is insufficient evidence to convict you.
- Fourth Amendment rights: Law enforcement officers must have a warrant to search your home or probable cause to demand a vehicle search. If a controlled substance is found without consent, it cannot be used legally as evidence.
- Entrapment: If you were arrested by an undercover officer, a skilled criminal defense attorney will be able to argue that you were pressured into committing a crime.
- Fabricated evidence: Some officers will use false evidence in a case to justify an arrest. If you think a controlled substance was planted on you or your property, talk to your attorney immediately.
Hire The Best Criminal Defense Attorney To Win Your Case
Criminal defense attorney Kerri Cleghorn has been defending clients accused of drug possession, OWI/DUI, and firearm-related charges since 2003. She has taken on cases that other attorneys abandoned and has successfully defended clients in front of a jury.
If you or someone you know is facing first-time cocaine possession, contact attorney Cleghorn immediately to reduce or eliminate your charges.
The following are some answers to questions she is often asked about possession.
Does a cocaine possession charge remain on your record for life?
First-offense cocaine possession is a felony charge that will remain on your record for life. For larger amounts of cocaine, you will face much more severe intent to distribute charges.
How much is a drug paraphernalia ticket?
Possessing drug paraphernalia in Wisconsin is a misdemeanor offense with 30 days maximum jail time and a $500 fine.
Is possession of drug paraphernalia a criminal offense?
Drug paraphernalia charges can either be a misdemeanor or felony offense. Paraphernalia is more than just a ticket and you will have a permanent criminal record if convicted.
Cocaine Intent To Distribute Charges
Intent to distribute charges are always felony offenses in Wisconsin, even for first-time offenders. Schedule II drugs are considered very addictive with a high potential for physical and psychological dependency. Intent to distribute can be shown in several factors:
- Drug quantity
- Drug street value
- Presence of manufacturing equipment
- Presence of drug paraphernalia
Even if you possess only 1 gram of cocaine, you can still be charged with intent to distribute. Prison sentences for felony possession with intent to distribute range from 12.5 to 40 years and $25,000 to $100,000 in fines depending on the amount.
Call Cleghorn Defense today to schedule a free consultation.