Steroids Classification And Overview Of Penalties
As a schedule III controlled substance, steroids are not considered as dangerous as schedule I drugs, but they can lead to serious consequences if you are convicted. Possessing steroids without a valid prescription is a misdemeanor for first-time offenses. Subsequent offenses will lead to felony charges. You could also face felony charges depending on the number of steroids you possessed at the time of your arrest. As a misdemeanor, the penalties you face could include a year in jail and a $1,000 fine. There is also a risk of ineligibility for loans if you are a student in the state of Wisconsin.
Cleghorn Defense can help if you face charges of steroid possession. Call for a consultation.
How To Beat Wisconsin Steroid Possession Charges
If you’ve been charged with possession of a schedule III controlled substance, then you will need an experienced and aggressive lawyer that will fight to protect your rights. Some common defense tactics that might help win your case are:
- Knowing your Fourth Amendment rights: Constitutional rights protect citizens from government overreach. Hiring an experienced defense attorney will help protect you against unlawful search and seizure on your property.
- Having a valid prescription from a licensed doctor: If your attorney can prove that you have a legal right to the steroids in your possession, then it could get your charges dropped altogether.
- Claiming entrapment: Your lawyer may be able to prove that under normal circumstances you would not have committed the crime you were charged with if there was no intrusion or influence by the police.
Hire The Best Criminal Lawyer In Wisconsin
If you or a loved one has been convicted of committing first offense drug possession, calling Cleghorn Defense may be the option you need to get out of your charges. Kerri Cleghorn has been defending people accused of committing severe crimes throughout the state of Wisconsin for 18 years. She’s competitive, fierce and won’t back down from a fight. She takes cases that many others would give up on and wins them at the most important part – in front of a jury. Be a part of her impressive record and get your possession charges dropped or reduced today!
How Can Steroid Possession Harm You?
The most common questions about a drug possession charge are:
How long does a schedule 3 drug charge stay on your record?
A schedule III drug charge could be listed on your permanent record for life, even if you’re not convicted and avoid penalties.
Can you be charged for possession of drug paraphernalia?
If you’re in possession of any equipment, product, or accessory that is intended to make or conceal drugs, you could be charged with a misdemeanor. Penalties include up to 30 days in jail and $500 fines.
What are other penalties for schedule 3 drug possession?
The lowest amount of penalties that one can face for steroid possession charges are 30 days in jail and a $500 fine. Penalties will increase depending on several factors, even for first-time offenses:
- How much you had on arrest
- If you have a criminal record
- If death or injury were involved
Intent To Distribute Steroid Laws, Charges And Penalties
Possession of Schedule III drugs with intent to distribute is a felony in Wisconsin even for first-time offenders. Intent to distribute is determined by the individual officer. When charging you, police will use the following criteria:
- Drug quantity
- Drug street value
- Presence of manufacturing equipment
- Presence of drug paraphernalia
Penalties include up to five years in prison and $250,000 fines. The maximum amount of prison time and maximum amount of fines both double on a second offense or depending on how much you had in your possession. There may be special penalties that apply for selling controlled substances to underaged individuals or within 1,000 feet of a school or campus.
Call Cleghorn Defense today to schedule a FREE consultation with Kerri Cleghorn.