On Your Side From Day One

THC Classification & Overview of Penalties

While marijuana is becoming legalized in numerous states, all forms of concentrated THC remain illegal in Wisconsin. First offense for possession of marijuana, THC, oils, waxes, edibles and any paraphernalia is a misdemeanor charge in Wisconsin. The maximum penalty for a first offense possession of THC is 6 months of jail time and $1000 in fines, not including other legal fees. Additionally, your driver’s license may be revoked for 5 years. Students who are convicted of THC or marijuana charges will no longer be eligible for financial aid benefits or scholarships.

Call for a consultation

How to Beat Marijuana Possession Charges in Wisconsin

The most common defenses against a drug possession charge are:

Unlawful Search And Seizure

If a police officer searches your vehicle or home without your consent and finds a controlled substance, it cannot legally be used as evidence in a courtroom.

Lack Of Probable Cause

Law enforcement officers must have probable cause to stop you while walking or driving. If you were pulled over without having committed a traffic or equipment violation, the traffic stop was illegal.

Lack Of Proof

The probability of your charges being dropped increases if there is limited evidence that the controlled substance belonged to you at the time of your arrest.

Hire The Best Criminal Defense Attorney To Win Your Case

Kerri Cleghorn is an experienced criminal defense attorney with 18 years of experience fighting drug possession charges in Southeast Wisconsin. She will formulate a powerful defense of your case using all available evidence. If you have been accused of marijuana or THC possession, contact an aggressive drug possession lawyer immediately to reduce or eliminate your charges.

Answers To Common THC Questions

Does THC possession remain on your record for life?

The most common defenses against a drug possession charge are:

How long does a THC charge stay on your record?

If you are convicted of a marijuana or THC charge, it will remain on your record for the rest of your life.

What are the charges for personal amounts of marijuana in Wisconsin?

Possession of Marijuana or THC concentrate is a misdemeanor charge for the 1st offense. Maximum penalties are 6 months in jail and a fine of $1,000.

Is marijuana paraphernalia a criminal offense?

Possessing or using marijuana paraphernalia in Wisconsin is a misdemeanor offense. If convicted, you will face a jail sentence of 30 days and a maximum fine of $500. Penalties are increased to 90 days incarceration and $1000 in fines for selling or distributing drug paraphernalia.

What are marijuana intent to distribute charges?

Intent to distribute charges are always felony offenses in Wisconsin and carry mandatory prison sentences and fines. The “Intent to distribute” charge is typically reserved for persons who possess over 200 grams of marijuana or a THC concentrate, but an “intent” charge can also be applied to smaller amounts at a police officer’s own discretion. Prison sentences vary from 3.5 to 15 years and fines range from $10,000-$50,000 based on the amount of THC you possess when you are arrested.

Call Our Office Today To Schedule a Free Consultation

Call for a consultation